weekend review

Ah, I love long weekends…

Friday night we went to use up our Best Buy gift card on Wallace and Gromit in the Curse of the Were-Rabbit which we rented almost six months ago and Basil still talk about. As we were getting out of the car, I noticed a yellow envelope on the ground. Thinking it was only trash, I picked it up on the of chance that there was something notable inside. And boy was I glad I did because there was $110 dollars inside! Thank you, Lord :)

I always feel a bit bad for the person who dropped the money…I’ve felt that sinking feeling way too many times before. Like when I drove away from the ATM and didn’t realize I had left the cash in the machine until I was miles away. Or when I put my wallet on the roof of the car while I was loading the kids in and drove away yet again. Or when…ok, you get the point. All I know is that I’m thankful to be on the recieving end and next time I’m on the losing end I’ll just hope that the person who finds it will really appreciate the blessing.

Saturday Aaron went to St. Barnabas to help at the church work day…we bought the building next to ours and are in the process of expanding our facilities so it was more of a moving day. The kids and I met my mom for breakfast and my dad came over for lunch.

Sunday was church and then lunch at Aaron’s parents to say goodbye to his grandparents who’ve been visiting from Texas for awhile…tasty tacos and pie afterwards. His grandma, Carlita, was hospitalized today after what seems to have been a stroke. Please pray for her if you think of it.

Aaron was home yesterday thanks to Mr. King; we got some things done around the house and I went thrifting while the kids napped. Four art canvases for 10 cents, a bedskirt, one telescope for Basil, one cool basket, and one solitary hour later I came home a chipper mommy thankful for her break. After dinner we packed in the car and drove to a big indoor skatepark, ate cinnamon rolls and drank coffee while watching the skateboarders below. Basil was impressed by the little kids and Juliana kept shouting “weeeee” when the guys went down the ramps.

All in all it was a nice, relaxing, chilly, and active weekend…glad those nasty flu bugs are gone! Hope you had a good one.

3 thoughts on “weekend review

  1. herman

    I remember visiting St. Barnabas and someone talking about acquiring the building –glad to hear it is happening!!

    Thrifting is fun, especially when treasures are found!

    Juliana’s response reminded me of those times when Becket would be concerned for the college kids who were skating around him,when they fell, at our local skatepark. Kid’s hearts are great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

