six years

Six years have passed since Aaron and I were married. I never knew how much I would grow to enjoy, appreciate, admire, and depend on him. His example of struggle and Christ-like love have taught and encouraged me each day.

It is amazing how quickly this life passes and how important it is to live the life we have been given in each moment, knowing that this is it…our single temporal chance to discover what we were created to do: to love. Not mushy fleeting love or emotionally hesterical love, though there are times for these…but to truly love in God’s way…by having mercy, denying ourselves, taking up our cross daily, and laying down our life for others. These past six years have taught me the beauty of this kind of love. I am so thankful for marriage and the opportunity it provides to LEARN this, as it is definitely not my natural impulse.

With each trial and joy, we have made a choice to either allow ourselves to be conformed to His image or to our own fallen image. Most moments, I have chosen the latter but when I look back over these years and can pick out the moments of Grace that fill even the smallest daily things, it is lovely. I look forward to those to come.

Happy Anniversary, honey. May God grant us many more through His love and Mercy. May we finish the race that has been set before us. I love you.

7 thoughts on “six years

  1. annie

    Congratulations, you two! Can’t believe I actually knew you guys before you were an old married couple with three kids. : )
    It’s wonderful to be in touch and get a peek into the life you’ve made together.
    May God, through His love and grace, grant you many more years!!

    Reply
  2. Simply Victoria

    many years to you two!
    I love this quote by rainer maria rilke:
    “For one human being to love another is perhaps the most difficult of our tasks…the ultimate, the last test and proof, the work for which all other work is but preparation.”

    Reply
  3. Erica

    Happy Anniversary and many years to you both. I’m so blessed to have you guys in my life. I love watching your children grow and also watching you two grow in love and Christ. Sean and I have talked about how you guys have given us a great example of what a healthy, godly marriage should have/look like. Thank you for that.

    Reply
  4. sara

    annie, I think the same of reading your blog…even though I never really had a chance to get to know you well myself, I’m glad to have the opportunity now knowing how much Aaron appreciated/appreciates your friendship…thanks for the well wishes :)

    susan, thanks!

    SV, that quote is beautiful…Rilke never ceases to amaze me.

    erica, shucks you are too kind…I really enjoy having you around, you are always so encouraging! :) But really, thank you for the compliment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

