tragedy strikes again!!

DUDE!  BC died!  He was happy and vibrant this morning before our errand running and LAID OUT when we got home!  Poor little fella.

So, what’s a mom to do????  Tell her 4 year old that his second pet kicked the bucket within a week!!??

Maybe it’s unethically dishonest but I called my awesome animal-loving neighbor, Julie, handed her three bucks and a brown sack of stiff rat (her suggestion in order to best match him, yes she IS that awesome) in hopes that the NEW BC will be in place before the end of naptime.  The death of Timothy the guinea pig was pretty traumatic for Basil and I feel just awful.  Sigh.

Should I really be blogging about this?

I’ll keep you posted.

10 thoughts on “tragedy strikes again!!

  1. Mimi

    Oh nooooooooooo!

    There’s a drawing in my “keep” box of me (hugely pregnant, no less) flushing a fish (complete with x eyes) down the toilet, drawn by my then five year old. Sigh.

    Reply
  2. Linsey

    I feel your pain. I had a pet rat once, actually two. He went into convulsions and died one night while my parents were at a soccer meeting. Anyway, I can still see Tootsie, or was it Fudge? now on the couch shaking and what not. They be the coolest pets ever.
    Our hamster, Boris, just passed 3 weeks ago. The heat got him. Liam seems to be ok. He mentions him now and again but remembers to himself, “Boris passed away…”

    Reply
  3. Katie

    that’s the funniest story ever. You know, your kids might notice the switch, though. Sometimes they’re a lot more observant than I think. Please post and let us know if it works :)

    Reply
  4. annie

    Wow! I agree with you. Two deaths in a matter of months might be too much for your sensitive guy to handle. I don’t think I could handle it. I cried when I had to flush my goldfish. ( I was 21)
    I LOVE the recent pics of your kids! So very precious. That picture of Basil with his skinned knee is classic, it looks like it could be a Norman Rockwell painting.
    Juliana is so cute and her preferred attire is shared by Johnny. He’d, actually, rather be “nakey-butt” but the diaper will do.
    And as for Simeon.. oh my goodness! The eyes, the smile, the rolls. He’s delightful!
    Oh, and to further catch myself up on commenting, I must say. Please let me know when you make that next Sea World trip. I just might join you, if you don’t mind. I’ve really wanted to take Johnny there and I happen to love that place, as well. It would be great to see you guys one of these days.
    Okay, that’s it for now.

    Reply
  5. Liz in Seattle

    What’s a mom to do? “That’s the cool thing about rats, honey. Sometimes their fur changes color a bit.” You can probably reveal this ruse to your son when he has a preschooler of his own.

    Liar, liar, pants on fire; and I just might do it too ;-)

    Reply
  6. Liz in Fullerton

    Well let me know if he falls for the switch-er-roo so that we don’t accidentily mention BC’s passing! I don’t think there is anything unethical about it. Death is a part of life, but losing 2 pets before your 4th b-day is a lot for any kid to handle… Good job Plew Mama!

    Reply
  7. papa herman

    Welcome to parenting in it’s fullness :) loss of pets and all.

    When Basil grows up to be a Dad he will appreciate and understand the acts of love his own parents made on his own behalf, even if he was not aware of them at the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

