hello 2008

We have name days a-plenty around here…..yesterday we commemorated St. Basil, today St. Juliana. Basil enjoyed it…his godparents and their kids came over and it’s neat to see him understanding what it’s about. Juliana doesn’t quite understand but I think I’ll make a cobbler for a treat tonight and we’ll read about her life to celebrate. What do you do for name days?

It’s pretty cool that we have the saints to look to…as someone told me, it gives us something real to strive to emulate so we’re now just trying to conjure up righteousness out of thin air…even if it is a far journey to where they are.  Now I just wish we could stare at the faces of and read glaring headlines about saints in line at the supermarket. Oh well.

Any who, we’ve had a fun filled couple of weeks, lots of family, friends and ripping of paper. Basil is sick right now……Simeon had pink eye, we’ve all passed the cold around, many echinacea capsules have been swallowed and numerous tissues tossed.

I’m looking forward to the new year, not just because the number itself looks nice but for another go at the turn of the wheel; the rhythm of seasons, feasts, fasts, trying new things, stumbling, succeeding, waiting, welcoming……you know, living.

A fresh start is nice. Ok, gotta do some laundry. Happy New Year!

11 thoughts on “hello 2008

  1. jen

    Christ is born! Glorify Him! Happy New Year! I didn’t get to say all these greetings to you and your fam because I was away at my families house in Central California. Fun, memorable times with the kiddos it sounds like!

    God grant your blessed babes many, many years!

    xoxo, jen

    Reply
  2. xenia kathryn

    Christmas greetings, and MANY years to B. and J.!! I just clicked your link to learn about St. Juliana… so amazing!!!! Would it be bad if I copied you again, name-wise? :D hehehe.

    Reply
  3. aaron

    XK,

    That would be so funny if we both had a Basil (Vasilia) and Juliana!

    You probably weren’t serious, but if you are, go for it!

    St. Juliana, if memory serves me, is actually in the family tree of [Ju] Liana Schmemman, wife of Fr. Alexander. It is amazing to me that she is a lesser known saint, she should be known at least as well as St. Seraphim of Sarov by her holy life and the miracles that followed her repose.

    Reply
  4. xenia kathryn

    actually, when I was pregnant with V., my mom really wanted me to name her Juliana. Now she’s plugging for it again, and so is my sister. Especially since I found out today that indeed, I am having another girl :) So who knows?!

    Reply
  5. Rebeca

    Thanks for visiting my blog today! I love the picture at the top of your blog- the icon, the book, and the playmobil guy sans hair really says a lot! It seems that half the fun of playmobil, for my son, is taking all the little pieces apart. I scrolled down a few posts and have to say that I really appreciate the Raising Godly Tomatoes website as well. It’s been a while since I’ve read there, but just today I was thinking I need to go back for some fresh inspiration! I’m trying to work on some specific things with my kids before #3 arrives in March and I think applying some of her principles would help us all!
    A blessed new year!

    Reply
  6. debd

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting. Happy Name-Day to our two little ones.

    As to your question: So far, we haven’t done anything too special for our kids name-day. Someday I’ll be more organized, but as it is, between birthdays and Christmas, I’m already overwhelmed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

